Home page
Professional page
Country Info
Picture gallery


(Kyrgyz and Russian: Кыргызстан, variously transliterated), officially the Kyrgyz Republic, is a country in Central Asia. Landlocked and mountainous, it borders Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tajikistan to the southwest and the People's Republic of China to the southeast. Kyrgyzstan means the "Land of the Kyrgyz". The country is also occasionally called "the Switzerland of Central Asia".